Youth Ink Winners Announced

The Orinda Junior Women's Club (OJWC) is pleased to announce the winners of Youth Ink, an annual creative writing contest open to all sixth-,

seventh- and eighth-grade students who live or attend school in Orinda.

The 2008 Youth Ink winners are:

First Place of \$250:

Lauren Dahlberg-Seeth, OIS, Grade 8, for "The Walls Are Mine"

Second Place of \$125:

Tamar McCollom, OIS, Grade 8, for "The Importance in Insignificance"

Third Place of \$75:

Hanne Andersen, Julia Morgan School for Girls, Grade 8, for "My Favorite Place"

Honorable Mentions (and \$25 gift certificate from The Storyteller) go to Miriam Griswold, Allison Light, Margot Mai, Marina Mai, Lillian Malmberg, Evan McAvenia, Kelly Noah, Sarah Sachs, Ashley See and Michelle Wu.

Youth Ink received almost 60 submissions that were each read and critiqued by an esteemed panel of local professional writers comprised of Melissa Manlove, Scott Ostler, Yvonne Prinz and Ginger Wadsworth.

"This year's Youth Ink entries had distinctive voices and celebrated youth, protested the encroachment of suburbia on nature, articulated fear and loss of a loved one, and celebrated the safety and realness of family life in contrast to the social pressures at school," said Maureen Brown, president of the Orinda Junior Women's Club. "We are pleased Youth Ink was the catalyst for these talented young writers to share their thoughts."

Youth Ink winners will be honored at an awards ceremony and reading at the Orinda Library Auditorium on Wednesday, April 16, at 6:30 p.m. The public is welcome to attend!

Generous co-sponsors of Youth Ink, including The City

of Orinda, Friends of the Orinda Library, The Storyteller, Denning & Company, Dragonfly Studio, and Ig & Martha Vega and Clark Thompson of Village Associates, made the contest possible. The Orinda Junior Women's Club welcomes additional sponsorships to ensure continued success.

If you are interested in becoming an OJWC member, please email Diane Eames at diane_eames@hotmail.com