Published August 13th, 2014
LLL Wins State Championship
Submitted by Matt Delaney
Front row, from left: Brady Huchingson, Tucker Gannon, Duke Varrellmann, Cole Murgia; middle row: Jack “JT” Byers, Jason Vorhauer, Mitchell Franklin, Sam Heyman, Drew Davidson, Patrick “PT” McLin; back row: coach Nick Murgia, Jake Delaney, John Kalil, coach Jason Vorhauer, Thatcher Hurd, manager Jim Huchingson Photo provided
Lafayette Little League's 11-year-old All-Star team made history this summer, winning the program's first ever Northern California divisional title on July 25. This is the first time in history that a Lafayette Little League team has won the Sectional Championship as well as the State Championship. Lafayette finished with a record of 15-2. The team outscored its opponents 147-55. Lafayette beat River Park twice in the State Championship and beat Petaluma Valley twice in the Sectional Championship.
The 11-year-old boys finished solid with a courageous performance on the mound by Jake Delaney, who was also the starting pitcher in the Sectional Championship game.
Seven players combined for 21 home runs, led by Sam Heyman (nine home runs, 32 RBIs), Brady Huchingson (three home runs, 18 RBIs), John Kalil (three home runs), Mitchell Franklin and Duke Varrellman (both with two home runs), and Drew Davidson and Jake Delaney (each with one home run).
Kalil, Delaney, Heyman and Jack "JT" Byers anchored the pitching staff with Cole Murgia, Tucker Gannon and Patrick "PT" McLin providing relief on the mound.

Reach the reporter at:

Copyright Lamorinda Weekly, Moraga CA