

## Independent, locally owned and operated!

www.lamorindaweekly.com 925-377-0977

## Published November 5th, 2014 Local Election Winners



Brandt Andersson and Don Tatzin Photos C. Tyson

It's like déjá vu all over again. Current vice mayor Brandt Andersson and mayor Don Tatzin were uncontested candidates for the Lafayette City Council back in 2006, and this year the dynamic duo will be appointed once again to another term, and changing seats on the Lafayette City Council. The city had the option of including them on the Nov. 4 ballot to fill the two seats, but no one other than the incumbents decided to run. This action saves the city thousands of dollars in election fees.

Since incorporating in 1968, this option has been invoked five times prior to this year; starting back in 1980 when Norm Tuttle did not run for reelection, so Tom Cleveland and LaVaughn Craig were appointed. Then again in 1993, 1997, and more recently 2004 when Erling Horn chose not to run, and Mike Anderson, Carl Anduri and Carol Federighi were uncontested, according to Joanne Robbins, city clerk.

Look for the festive swearing in ceremony at the Dec. 8 City Council meeting in the Community Hall of the Lafayette Library and Learning Center at 7 p.m.

The Lafayette School District is also making appointments in lieu of election. There are three open seats on the governing board and three volunteers to fill the unpaid positions, David Gerson, Teresa Gerringer and Suzy Pak. Gerson has served on the board since December 2010, Gerringer has served since 2000 and is currently the board president; Pak is a newcomer to the board, but has been involved in education for some time. - C. Tyson



Lafayette School District governing board appointees, from left: Teresa Gerringer, David Gerson and Suzy Pak.

Reach the reporter at: <a href="mailto:info@lamorindaweekly.com">info@lamorindaweekly.com</a>

<u>back</u>

Copyright (C) Lamorinda Weekly, Moraga CA