

## Independent, locally owned and operated!

www.lamorindaweekly.com 925-377-0977

## Published December 31st, 2014 **DFAL All-League Teams**

Compiled by C. Mitchell



Cameron Gaskell Sammy Taketa Hannah Ross Melissa Van Pell Kelly Wirth Molly Dalziel Caroline Schafer Spencer Tagg Tyler Abramson Jordan Hoover Madison Tagg Emily Byrne

> Sammy Taketa Acalanes Rachel Johnson Campolindo Second Team: Hana Sun Campolindo Sarah Cella Campolindo Hannah Ruane Campolindo

Lamorinda schools took top honors at the NCS meet in both boys' and girls' cross country. Campolindo boys and girls finished No. 1 overall at NCS. Campolindo girls finished No. 2 at the CIF State Championships. At NCS, Miramonte and Acalanes boys rounded out the No. 4 and No. 5 spots, respectively. Miramonte girls took fifth place at the NCS meet.

Boys' First Team:
Cameron Gaskell Acalanes
Jared Yabu Campolindo
Parker Lothamer Campolindo
Boys' Second Team:
Jonathan Semenza Campolindo
Sid Bagga Miramonte
Kevin Buckley Campolindo
Richard Gong Campolindo
Nathaniel Sauerberg Campolindo

First Team: Brighie Leach Campolindo Toni Finnane Campolindo Mary Orders Campolindo

All three Lamorinda football teams qualified for the playoffs. Campolindo earned the No. 1 seed. The Cougars swept through the NCS playoffs and the Northern California Regionals to advance to the CIF State Bowl game. In a stunning comeback, they won the title game 35-28. Acalanes earned the No. 5 seed and was bounced by the juggernaut Cougars. Miramonte earned the No. 12 seed in the NCS Division II playoffs.

First Team:

Jack Stephens Campolindo
Nick Fadelli Campolindo
Max Flower Campolindo
Tyler Petite Campolindo
Brady Aiello Acalanes
Sterling Strother Campolindo
Michael Fink Acalanes
Adam Remotto Campolindo
Ryan Anderson Miramonte
Tom Hofmeister Acalanes
Sam Gelmis Campolindo

Clayton Stehr Miramonte

Jack Shurtz Campolindo

Tiger Garcia Campolindo

Michael Samaniego Campolindo

Second Team:

Clayton Stehr (defense) Campolindo

Tyler Henderson Acalanes

Greg Pietrykowski Miramonte

Scott Iqbal Miramonte

Ryan Geisreiter Campolindo

John O'Malley Acalanes

Chad Johnson Acalanes

Todd Blakely Campolindo

Cameron Gee Miramonte

Jared Finney Acalanes

Kevin Hull Campolindo

Tommy Nimura Acalanes

Ryan Anderson (defense) Miramonte

The girls' golf programs enjoyed a strong season. Miramonte finished second in the NCS tournament.

Most Valuable Player:

**Emily Attiyeh Acalanes** 

First Team:

Arielle Caronna Miramonte

Vanessa Van Pell Acalanes

Second Team:

Ali Ingrey Miramonte

Valerie Rockewell Campolindo

Lamorinda sent one team to the NCS girls' tennis tournament. Miramonte earned a No. 4 seed and upset the No. 1 team to reach the finals. They finished in second place overall.

First Team:

**Taylor James Miramonte** 

Riley Eversole Miramonte

Hannah Ross Campolindo

Cece Andrews/Bella Kelly Miramonte

Nicole Finney/Grace Roberts

Campolindo

Second Team:

Melissa Van Pell Acalanes

Sasha Schtein Acalanes

Jess Simon-Parker Campolindo

Haley Stanten Miramonte

Lauren Ladrech/Quinn Harrington

Acalanes

Maddie Geary/Vivian McGowan

Miramonte

Honorable Mention:

Tara Barabi Acalanes

Emma Price Campolindo

Jen Stanten Miramonte

The volleyball programs all qualified for the NCS tournament. As a No. 6 seed, Miramonte reached the second round. At a No. 4 seed, Acalanes lost in the semifinals to No. 1 Campolindo.

Campo was upset in the finals and lost in the first round of the NorCal tournament.

Most Valuable Player: Kelly Wirth Campolindo

First Team:

Molly Dalziel Acalanes Annie Doyle Campolindo Caroline Schafer Miramonte Kristen Sibley Campolindo

Second Team:
MacKenzie Brown Campolindo
Emily Fabian Miramonte
Parker Jones Acalanes
Sabrina Smith Campolindo
Honorable Mention:
Lauren Budde Campolindo
Vanessa Tang Miramonte

The Lamorinda water polo teams were a dominant force in the DFAL and NCS this season. The boys qualified all three teams. Campolindo and Miramonte took the top two seeds, respectively. Acalanes earned the No. 5 seed. After a dramatic semifinal game, Campolindo advanced to the finals where they faced Miramonte. The Mats took the title. In the girls' bracket, Campolindo, Miramonte, and Acalanes took the top three seeds, respectively. Miramonte ousted Acalanes in the semifinals. Then, Campo beat the Mats in the finals.

Boys' Outstanding Goalie: Spencer Tagg Campolindo

Boys' First Team: Tyler Abramson Miramonte Garrett Felix Campolindo Jordan Hoover Miramonte Grayson Judge Miramonte Charlie Rodgers Acalanes Cole Stevens Campolindo Brendan Supple Acalanes Scott Zurnacian Campolindo Boys' Second Team: Nima Anjedani Miramonte Peter Brassinga Campolindo Tommy Fellner Acalanes Yurii Hanley Campolindo Jack Winther Acalanes Alex Zamanian Miramonte Boys' Honorable Mention: **Brad Robison Acalanes** Cullen Jacuzzi Campolindo **Evan Pauletich Miramonte** 

Girls' Most Valuable Player: Madison Tagg Campolindo Girls' First Team: Hannah Buck Campolindo Emily Byrne Miramonte Kristen Hong Miramonte Hannah Kresnak Acalanes
Rachel Lewin Campolindo
Lauren Paxton Miramonte
Brooke Presten Campolindo
Girls' Second Team:
Brooke Alsterlind Acalanes
Hailey Eberle Miramonte
Kari Jensen Campolindo
Avery Martin Miramonte
Emma Myall Acalanes
Olivia Price Campolindo
Grace Tehaney Miramonte

Girls' Honorable Mention: Lucy Fellner Acalanes Katie Klein Campolindo Katrina Drake Miramonte



Sammy Taketa



Hannah Ross



Melissa Van Pell



Kelly Wirth

Reach the reporter at: <a href="mailto:info@lamorindaweekly.com">info@lamorindaweekly.com</a>

<u>back</u>

Copyright (Copyright (