Published May 20th, 2015
New Troop 212 Eagle Scouts
Submitted by Lauren Woolsey
From left, back row: David Cushing and Walker Franklin; middle row: Noah Bagley, Ian Franklin, Alexander Horst, Kevin Atkinson and Derek Ludwig; front row: Tristan Westernoff, Dylan Thomas, Grant Bartis and Nicky Erickson Photo courtesy Karen Drinkwater
Boy Scout Troop 212 conducted their 52nd National Eagle Court of Honor on Sunday, April 26 at Moraga Valley Presbyterian Church, which sponsors the troop, to celebrate 11 outstanding young men earning the Eagle Award.
This year's Troop 212 Eagle Scout honorees from Campolindo High School and Acalanes High School are: Nicky Erickson, who painted new blacktop games at Camino Pablo Elementary School; Kevin Atkinson, who installed a bench at the Saint Mary's College cross in memory of Reed Whittaker, fellow Troop 212 Eagle; Grant Bartis, who built a collapsible container to hold a generator for the MVPC Mission Trip; David Cushing, who built three custom-sized bookshelves and rolling planter for a special education classroom; Noah Bagley, who built and replaced old shed doors at Harbor House Ministries; Walker Franklin, who built risers for the choir program at Harbor House Ministries; Derek Ludwig, who built a storage shed for Campo Cabana Club; Dylan Thomas, who rebuilt the Rheem Elementary School marquee; Ian Franklin, who refurbished the courtyard of Las Trampas Inc.; Alexander Horst, who built eight backless benches for Camp Timberwolf; Tristan Westernoff, who rebuilt and replaced the baseball cubbies in the dugouts at Joaquin Moraga baseball fields.
Eagle is the highest award that a Scout can earn. Nationally, only about 4 percent of all boys who enter the Scouting program earn the award. Troop 212 has an active program of campouts, summer camps, and high adventure activities. The Troop currently has 79 youth actively involved is its programs. Troop 212 has awarded this special honor to 397 scouts since 1961.

Reach the reporter at:

Copyright Lamorinda Weekly, Moraga CA