Published August 24th, 2016
MOFD and BART Highlight Lamorinda Special District Races
On the Moraga-Orinda Fire District governing board, John Jex, a retired accountant, has been appointed in lieu of election to the Division 2 seat vacated by Fred Weil. The race for the Division 5 seat held by Alex Evans features a battle between Orinda Mayor Victoria Smith and retired business executive Craig Jorgens.
Two districts of the Bay Area Rapid Transit system fall in Lamorinda, and both directors' seats are up for grabs in November. District 1 pits incumbent Gail Murray versus Debora Allen, a board trustee of the Contra Costa County Employees' Retirement Association. One-time Moraga Mayor Ken Chew runs against District 3 incumbent Rebecca Saltzman, business consultant Varun Paul and web programmer Worth Freeman.
Candace Andersen continues as director of the Contra Costa County Fire Protection District as a result of her June victory for Supervisor of Contra Costa County District 2.

Reach the reporter at:

Copyright Lamorinda Weekly, Moraga CA