

Published July 22nd, 2020

Candidates begin to file for November election

By Sora O'Doherty

The terms of office of Orinda mayor Darlene Gee and city council member and former mayor Inga Miller will soon expire, and the Nov. 3 election will include those two four-year positions on the city council. Nominations will be accepted by the city clerk. Potential candidates should contact City Clerk Sheri Smith at ssmith@cityoforinda.org or (925) 253-4221 to schedule an appointment to take out and/or file nomination papers.

Lafayette has three council members whose term of office expires in November: Mayor Mike Anderson, and council members Cameron Burks and Steven Bliss. The candidate is responsible for the delivery of all signed original documents to the City Clerk Joanne Robbins. Due to COVID-19 city offices are open by appointment only. Nomination papers for city council candidates will be issued by appointment only. To schedule an appointment with City Clerk Joanne Robbins call (925) 284-1968 or email jrobbins@ci.lafayette.ca.us Moraga also had three council positions to fill: the terms of mayor Kymberleigh Korpus and council members Roger Wykle and Renata Sos expire in November.

Candidates must be 18 years of age or older, a citizen of the United States, and a resident and registered voter in the city/town. Candidates must also not be disqualified by the Constitution or laws of the state of California from holding a civil office.

The nomination period is when individuals officially receive, circulate and file nomination papers for candidacy. The nomination period for candidates opened on July 13 and will close at 5 p.m. on Aug. 7. If an incumbent fails to submit nomination papers by Aug. 7, non-incumbent candidates will have until 5 p.m. on Aug. 12, to file nomination papers.

In addition to the councils, there are also members of the school boards whose terms expire in November. In Orinda, OUSD board president Cara Hoxie and board member Hikary Weiner's terms will expire this year. Other school board members with terms that expire this year are, in Moraga, Vice President Jannelle Chng and board member Richard Severy; in Lafayette President Meredith Meade and member Susy Pak, and on the Acalanes Union High School board, members Kristin Connelly and Kathy Coppersmith.

Reach the reporter at: <u>sora@lamorindaweekly.com</u>

back Copyright C Lamorinda Weekly, Moraga CA