

Independent, locally owned and operated!

www.lamorindaweekly.com 925-377-0977

Published April 26th, 2023

Orinda celebrates teachers and classified personnel of the year

By Sora O'Doherty

The board of the Orinda Union School District at its April 17 meeting honored the teachers of the year and classified employees of the year for each of its five schools. The teachers of the year were Gretchen Loughran, Del Rey Elementary; Erin Miller, Glorietta Elementary School; Michelle Pinney, Orinda Intermediate School; Diana Owens Sleepy Hollow Elementary; and Alicia Doyle, Wagner Ranch Elementary. The five teachers were celebrated with words of praise from their students and each was presented with a certificate from the District and a potted plant.

At the same meeting the OUSD congratulated the six classified employees who were selected by their colleagues as exemplary employees at their school site or department.?For the recognition, the six classified?employees will be celebrated and presented with a certificate from the District.? The six classified employees chosen were: Ardis Atkins, Accounts Clerk at the District Office; Julissa Kemp School Secretary at Del Rey; Mariangela Hunter, Instructional Assistant at Glorietta; Michelle Bournonville, Special Services Assistant at OIS; Shauna Simmonds, Office Manager at Sleepy Hollow School and Jennifer Lee, classroom aide at Wagner Ranch.

From the awardees, Erin Miller was named OUSD Teacher of the Year, and Michelle Bournonville was named Classified Employee of the Year.

2023-24 Contra Costa County Teacher of the Year candidates honored

Twenty-one educators in Contra Costa County have been named their school district's teacher of the year. With that distinction, the educators represent more than 8,000 teachers in Contra Costa County public schools and community colleges.?The 2023-24 Contra Costa County Teachers of the Year is organized by the Contra Costa County Office of Education (CCCOE). The following are Lamorinda candidates (Erin Miller was named OUSD Teacher of the Year, as noted above): Evan Sebree - Acalanes Center for Independent Study (AUHSD)

Abigail Ehrhorn - Burton Valley Elementary (LafSD) Michael Adler - Camino Pablo Elementary (MSD)

Reach the reporter at: sora@lamorindaweekly.com

<u>back</u>

Copyright © Lamorinda Weekly, Moraga CA